About Us

At The Savings Bank we are proud of our heritage! Launched by a small group of local individuals, our bank began as modest start-up. Committed to serving individuals and businesses in this part of Ohio, we multiplied the initial capital investment many times over within a decade.

Today we remain, first and foremost, a community bank. We donate time and resources to nearly every cause in the markets we serve, and are continually expanding our products, services and security measures to support the success of our consumer and business customers.

Below are the details of our storied past. We remain forever grateful to our customers, employees and shareholders for the opportunity to serve you for over a century. Thank you!

The Savings Bank was founded in 1912 under the name of The Circleville Savings and Banking Company by six incorporators: Phillip Herrnstein, Henry C. Allen, J.R. Noecker, Frederick Barnes, W.L. Peters and H.M. Crites.

On March 1, 1912, the first Board of Directors of The Circleville Savings and Banking Company were elected: H.M. Crites, H.C. Allen, W.L. Peters, Charles Gerhardt, J.J. Mast, John C. Goeller, G.W. Runkle, Phillip Herrnstein, Frederick Barnes and J.R. Noecker.

Twenty-five thousand dollars ($25,000) was needed as start-up capital, so sixteen investors purchased stock at $100 per share to raise the money. The original sixteen shareholders were: J. R. Noecker, H.C. Allen, W.L. Peters, Phillip Herrnstein, H.M. Crites, John W. Goeller, G.W. Runkle, Carrie L. Runkle, Charles Nauman, J.J. Mast, Charles Gerhardt, Meeker Terwilliger, J.M. Morris, J.P. Brown, Frederick Barnes and F.E. Archer.

On April 20, 1912, The Circleville Savings and Banking Company received the authority from the Superintendent of Ohio Banks to open its doors.

The first location of the bank was 110 North Court Street, in Circleville. At the end of 1912, The Circleville Savings and Banking Company had grown to an asset size of $38,480.15. By 1924, the asset size had grown to $1,781,199.02.

In 1913, the bank moved to a small front location in the Pythian Castle, just next door to the bank's first location. Today, the bank utilizes entirely what was The Pythian Castle for the Main Office Branch and Operations Center.

In March, 1961, The Circleville Savings and Banking Company corporate title was changed to The Savings Bank. In 1964, The Savings Bank built its first drive-in facility at the corner of North Court and Pinckney Streets.

In December 1977, The Savings Bank entered into the ever-changing world of technology by advancing from a hand-posted, manual system to computers.

On August 15, 1983, The Savings Bank grew geographically with the purchase of the Ashville Bank, located at 18 Long Street in Ashville.

In 1987, The Savings Bank built a new drive-in at 120 Pinckney Street, which included the convenience of six lanes.

In 1988, the Bank's first ATM was installed at the drive-in facility at 120 Pinckney Street – another welcome convenience for customers.

The Savings Bank was the first bank in Pickaway County to offer “installment” loans, and the first to offer “home equity” loans.

On January 28, 1991, the ability to serve customers in the western part of Pickaway County was made possible by the purchase of the Williamsport Office.

On April 9, 1992, The Savings Bank celebrated an asset size of $100,000,000.

On February 29, 2000, a new branch was opened at 501 Long Street in Ashville.

As of March, 2012, The Savings Bank's asset size was approximately $291,000,000.

In September, 2015, The Savings Bank opened a new branch in London, Ohio.

In March of 2017, a new, state-of-the-art banking center was opened in Ashville, replacing the bank's two older complexes. 

The Savings Bank continues to grow and expand in the ways our customers can access their accounts, – including TheSavingsBankOhio.com, MyTSBMobile, Mobile Banking for business and convenient ATM locations – while retaining traditional technologies, such as the INFOLine and drive-thru banking. 

Below are some of The Savings Bank's Presidents and Chairmen of the Board, past and present:

  • Phillip Herrnstein, President, 1912 - 1917
  • Henry C. Allen, President, 1917 - 1932 
  • John Goeller, President, 1932 - 1954 
  • Turney M. Glick, President , 1954 - 1965
  • Marvin G. Steely, President, 1965 - 1975 
  • George D. Young, Chairman of the Board, 1975 - 1991 
  • Walter Garner, President, 1976 - 1979 
  • Harry J. Clifton, Chairman of the Board, 1991 - 1999 
  • Larry Priest, President, 1979 - 1991
  • Stephen A. Gary, President / CEO of  The Savings Bank, 1991 - 2014
  • J. Jeff Farthing, President, 2014 - Present

The Savings Bank’s current Board of Directors includes:

  • Thomas F. Tootle, Chairman of the Board
  • J. Jeff Farthing, Board Secretary / Director
  • John R. Ankrom
  • John E. Bowers
  • Connie Campbell
  • H. Scott Clifton
  • Richard Clifton
  • Stephen A. Gary
  • Robert D. Mabe


Member FDIC Member FDIC Member FDIC